After completing my last coffee table, I thought that I would keep the same basic look of wood and concrete in my next table, but add a little woodworking detail. The Rustic Table has plenty of natural detail, but I wanted to do a little more with the shaping of the wood. I started with a hexagon shaped Oak top. Embedded within the top are 3 oak arrows. They are set at 120 degrees from each other and really help the top stand out from the ordinary. The grain is very pretty and I think the legs turned out nicely. I was a little hesitant about only using 3 legs, but I really like the way it sits and they compliment the geometry of the top.

I am in the finishing stage at the moment, but have high hopes for the final product. I plan on a thick epoxy finish and moderately shaped edges. The legs will keep a fairly sharp look.

Update: Pictures and more details are found on the Pointed Hex page.

It is about 23″ across from side to side and 27″ across from corner to corner. I am having a hard time classifying this one because I can see it being used as either a coffee table or a side table. This creation would go very well between two couches at any angle to each other or could be well used in the middle of a seating arrangement. Any comments here are welcomed.

Leave a Reply

