Walnut, Concrete, Walnut, Glass

Posted: October 11, 2010 in Furniture
Tags: , , ,

I began my walnut and glass concrete coffee table a while back and am really looking forward to completing it.  I have been occupied with the design of a concrete patio for a client and hope to make some progress this week.  So for now, the coffee table sits in my carport awaiting the finishing touches.  This table has some great features and want to mention a few of them here even though they will be repeated when I create a separate page for it.

Starting on the outside, it has a dark walnut border that very nice hardwood.  I bought it specifically for this project and I think it really sets the table apart from some of my other work.

Moving inward, the concrete was colored with a light walnut pigment, so the color is throughout the material.  When I placed the concrete in the form, I was afraid that it was a bit on the pink side, but after the concrete cured, that is no longer a concern.  It is not that I have something against pink – I’ll make you a hot pink table if you like, but not with the dark natural look of the walnut wood.

Then there is another walnut frame that holds up the inner piece of glass.  The inside wood frame was cut from the same board of wood, so there is very good consistency.  The glass is about 9″x29.5″ and not only adds detail to the piece, but can also be used to add your own art under the glass.

The entire table weighs in at about 45lbs, which is remarkably light for a 42″x21″ concrete coffee table.  The top sits about 18″ tall and will be urethane coated when finished.  Each leg is gusseted and the concrete is reinforced with steel channel.

So even with all of the description above, I don’t think that I have painted a very good picture of how this table is turning out.  I just have to finish it and post some pictures.   They will be coming soon.

Update:  The Walnut and Glass Coffee Table was finished last night.  Check out it’s page.

Leave a Reply

